• Mar 26th, 2018 1:57 am
[OP]
Nov 25, 2010
13 posts
1 upvote

10k DEBT! PAST DUE!! Need HELP! NO JOB!

Hi everyone,

Here is my life story:

I went to college for 1 year and decided to switch to an out of town University (lived on campus). Rent was super expensive, so I decided to move back to Toronto, and enrolled in the same program at a University back home, so I can live with my parents. Luckily, my first year credits transferred
Now I am in my 3rd year of University, and I owe $10k worth of credit card debt. On top of that, I still have monthly payments of $300~ from the portion of OSAP from the loan I took for my College/out of town University.

This 10k debt is all from misc stuff (food, going out, coffee) since April 2016. I don't like asking my parents for money, so I just decided to put the stuff on my credit card. Been paying the minimum balance since, but now I am past due on my payments, and getting collection letters from the bank!!! PLEASE HELP!!!

I am also worried about school for next year, I don't know how I will pay for it. My grades aren't good enough to get OSAP funding. I will get only a little, but not the full amount of tuition.

My interest payments monthly are roughly $150 alone on my credit card! I have a part time seasonal job until May (15 hour/week), and will start looking for other jobs after this one ends. But it is so hard. It is so competitive out there.
I am just in a rut, playing video games, don't really have the motivation to do anything. My parents just nag at me all the time. My university classes are 2x/week, and they think I don't go school. They are very traditional and believe in the going to school Monday to Friday.

Does any one know how having a bad credit will affect my future? I know it will be harder for me to rent, or buy a car. But will it impact my employment?

I would love to hear your advice on how to get out of this rut.
Last edited by a73hd73hd on Sep 14th, 2018 10:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.
65 replies