• Jun 16th, 2018 1:09 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 23, 2004
1246 posts
9 upvotes

2 months, 100+ applications, 0 results so far - please critique resume

Hello,

I've been applying for about 2 months now using the following two resumes with no results to date:
Accounting AP/AR
http://docdro.id/GQyXaCx

Administrative Assistant
http://docdro.id/H8nbOKc

I am applying to harder to get into companies - municipal government, utilities, colleges, etc.

Thank You in advance for the feedback.
31 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 7, 2006
1916 posts
284 upvotes
Your first resume at least isn't bad - but what types of roles are you applying to? Your experience is fairly limited in scope, automated at many companies already, and at the lower end within the "accounting/finance" world...are you overshooting by applying to roles which are too above your experience level?
Deal Addict
Oct 16, 2013
2106 posts
515 upvotes
Toronto
winner2000 wrote:
Jun 3rd, 2018 7:25 pm
Your first resume at least isn't bad - but what types of roles are you applying to? Your experience is fairly limited in scope, automated at many companies already, and at the lower end within the "accounting/finance" world...are you overshooting by applying to roles which are too above your experience level?
AP is never above one experience level.
Deal Addict
Feb 7, 2006
1916 posts
284 upvotes
raichu1 wrote:
Jun 3rd, 2018 7:27 pm
AP is never above one experience level.
Not sure if I understand your point. I was trying to say that if OP is applying to a "Senior Accountant" role (as an example), he is way too underqualified with his AP/AR/Admin experience.
Deal Addict
Oct 18, 2014
1485 posts
524 upvotes
Tokyo
Sounds like very basic entry-level experience, which are a dime a dozen (maybe hundred).

Don’t mean to sound harsh OP but you don’t posess either 1) unique skillset or 2) high demand skillset.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 23, 2004
1246 posts
9 upvotes