• Last Updated:
  • Aug 14th, 2018 3:54 pm
Aug 18, 2013
198 posts
71 upvotes
NCR
michelb wrote:
Aug 10th, 2018 9:29 am
I'm not an electrician so take this with a grain of salt but IMO, your electrician did not give you proper service. He's installing an outlet that's designed to accept up to 240V/50A (NEMA 14-50R). The fact that you are only planning on using it with a 30A appliance is immaterial. You could decide to use it for 40A or 50A later (e.g. you decide to upgrade to a JuiceBox 40 PRO or you buy a trailer and decide to plug it in the outlet). Similarly if you were adding a electrical outlet in a room, even if you only plan on plugging a lamp or clock or something else that uses minimal amount, it should still be a 120V/15A circuit, not a 5A circuit or something like that.
I have no idea what you are talking about but it sounds good so I will go with it! Everything is working fine and at some point I will test the line to see what it is drawing when charging and sitting idle just for curiosity sake.

I don't know what the future will bring in terms of fueling a car but at the moment, I have what I need to power the Leaf. I will not be looking for another EV unless the prices come down OR we get another rebate (I'm in ON) OR a combination of both!
May 15, 2003
450 posts
29 upvotes
Richmond
darrenhd wrote:
Aug 9th, 2018 1:12 pm
I'm going with a 50A breaker and 8/3 wire, and the NEMA 14-50R outlet from HomeDepot. I know the Nissan charger only pulls 30A but I am future proofed a little bit if my next car can do more. Shouldn't you have more than 30A breaker? Even a 40A? You are right at the max of what the charger will draw. The manual recommends 50A.