• Oct 3rd, 2012 11:20 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
May 3, 2009
10 posts
Ottawa

$499 Registration fee?!

ok, so I'm new to the new car buying world but this forum has been super helpful so I figured I would ask a question....

I got a quote with a $499 Registration fee for VW. Is this normal, negotiable?

It seems crazy high and my searches for other posts show that the fee is not the same from car to car and person to person...what gives?

thanks in advance
29 replies
Deal Addict
May 22, 2009
4314 posts
547 upvotes
Caledon
glggal wrote:
May 29th, 2009 1:02 pm
ok, so I'm new to the new car buying world but this forum has been super helpful so I figured I would ask a question....

I got a quote with a $499 Registration fee for VW. Is this normal, negotiable?

It seems crazy high and my searches for other posts show that the fee is not the same from car to car and person to person...what gives?

thanks in advance
$499 registration for what? We charge $1,360 for freight and pdi, $175 globali and $245 admn fee. You must in an area where there's only "one" VW dealer.
[OP]
May 3, 2009
10 posts
Ottawa
There are several dealers here....When I asked, this was the response:

"All dealers have an Admin Fee. It covers the cost of paperwork, arranging licensing, a full tank of fuel, etc."

I want it waived alltogether...possible?
[OP]
May 3, 2009
10 posts
Ottawa
afretes wrote:
May 29th, 2009 1:04 pm
$499 registration for what? We charge $1,360 for freight and pdi, $175 globali and $245 admn fee. You must in an area where there's only "one" VW dealer.
p.s. is Globali the fuel, AC and omvic taxes combined?
Deal Addict
Feb 9, 2009
1477 posts
76 upvotes
Markham
It can't be waived, depending on the car, it might be worked into the price of the car. If it bundled all together with some other things then maybe its not so bad.