• Jan 2nd, 2018 6:32 pm
[OP]
Dec 24, 2012
78 posts
1 upvote
BURNABY

Adobe Photoshop Elements or Corel Paintshop Pro

Hello everyone,
Since I do not like the monthly subscription based system of Adobe LR +PS, I was planning to buy one of Adobe Photoshop Elements or Corel Paintshop Pro, when there will be deals during the boxing week. While Elements is slightly more expensive, with the recent deal going on, their prices are roughly in the same ballpark. For those of you who have used it, which one of these two would you recommend.
While I am quite serious about photography, and enjoy editing, I am not a pro, and don't intend to be one sometime soon. I have used LR and PS earlier, and reasonably comfortable with them. I have not, however, used any of Corel PP or PS Elements before.

Thank you for all your time and help in advance.
Cheers.
6 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 10, 2001
1155 posts
368 upvotes
I've used Photoshop and Elements for several years. I have Corel Paintshop Pro as well. I've had access to significantly reduced pricing for Adobe products due to provincial agreements. I prefer the Adobe products to Corel based on two factors. First, the Adobe products are widely supported and there is a great deal of training available. You may have access to Lynda.com through your library for top shelf training for free. Second, while Corel's product is very good, I've found it to be sometimes less stable, more likely to crash.