Students

Advice Needed: 3-year or 4-year bachelor degree. Which to choose?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 26th, 2011 8:45 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jun 11, 2010
1195 posts
93 upvotes

Advice Needed: 3-year or 4-year bachelor degree. Which to choose?

I'm currently in my 2nd year of a chem degree, and I'm debating whether to continue in my module for the honours degree, or graduate in 3 years with a double-minor (bio/chem) degree instead. I don't want to do graduate work (M.Sc.) but I would possibly like to apply for medical school, teacher's college or possibly law school in the future. I would also like to maybe teach english abroad for a year, and haven even entertained the notion of joining the armed forces as an officer. As you can see, I'm trying to keep my options open right now.

Is there any advantage for me to take a 4th year? If I do, I will have to take a bunch of mandatory credits that I will hate, but if I graduate in 3 years, the degree structure is much more flexible, allowing me to graduate with a much better GPA.

Advice needed.
24 replies
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jun 11, 2010
1195 posts
93 upvotes
Also, if I'm applying for science jobs like a lab technician, or field technician, will having only 3 years hurt me? For example, would it put me on par with students who perhaps only had a college diploma?
Deal Guru
Dec 7, 2009
13794 posts
1304 upvotes
I think the problem is that most people are ignorant to the fact that there even exists 3 year degrees at the university level. Most people don't read their course calendars and just take for granted that the only degree available is an honours 4yr degree.