• Apr 19th, 2013 4:53 pm
Tags:
None
Aug 5, 2008
74 posts
4 upvotes
Markham

Advise Needed: IMG (IAMGOLD)

Help. I'm a new stock trader. I bought IMG when it was at $16 something ... and it kept dropping. Now it's at 4 something. What should I do ? Help!!!! :( :(
10 replies
Nov 27, 2009
319 posts
25 upvotes
Hold it... Keep saving and once the tide turns and price of gold starts to rally, buy it at 4 or 5 or less to average down your cost and ride it until you breakeven. Then you can decide whether to stay in or cash out.
Although I have no idea when the gold would start to rally again but it will sooner or later.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 27, 2007
5507 posts
1956 upvotes
Hold it, it will revisit $10 level in the next 3 months, IMO. GOLD is the key to miners
Mar 19, 2010
918 posts
106 upvotes
Markham
BB_DD wrote: What should I do ? Help!!!! :( :(
Based on the way the Gold equities are trading, the market is expecting Gold to go down a lot further.

I would stay away from any Gold investments and would use IMG as a tax loss later in the year.
Deal Guru
Jun 26, 2005
10111 posts
1966 upvotes
Toronto
Sell it right now and admit you made a mistake. The mistake was not having a stop loss set. BEFORE you enter any trade, always set your max loss price level. Then enter it into the platform.

It can be a fixed amount or a %. You must do this for every trade. If you had one set, you wouldn't be in this position right now.
Mar 13, 2012
865 posts
145 upvotes
Planet Earth
BB_DD wrote: What should I do ? Help!!!! :( :(
Don't do anything irrational right now. That's what investors do... Wait a few years frankly and just collect the dividend. Hopefully you didn't invest your life savings. Patience and stop listening to pundits and talking heads.

Next time put a stop loss in place... That's what traders do.
If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you even tried.
Banned
Feb 15, 2008
26318 posts
3242 upvotes
Calgary