Tags:
None
Deal Guru
Feb 8, 2014
12947 posts
2996 upvotes
rb wrote:
Nov 23rd, 2015 1:23 pm
I'm no expert but what type of subsidies are we talking about ? Won't those on fossil fuels be higher since they are a much bigger portion of the economy ?

Wind and Solar are very heavily subsidized in Ontario considering how little they contribute to electricity generation
Fossil fuel subsidies were meant to help a fledgling technology that was not profitable, but their political buying buyer means they have been put on the books permanently. As for the ontario feed in tariff, it was poorly executed, but i would be interested in seeing the cost comparisons between it and the wildly over budget nuclear plants, you could probably feed most of Canada on how much they went over budget. Two wrongs don't make a right
Lies, damned lies, statistics and alternative facts
Deal Guru
Aug 2, 2001
13763 posts
4332 upvotes
How can you trust something like this when the premier states that "Eventually, said Notley, the carbon taxes could be dedicated toward paying down public debt".
(http://www.ctvnews.ca/politics/alberta- ... -1.2669291)

Rather than just increasing taxes, the ndp are trying to hide it within a "carbon tax" with plans to use the money for non-related items (such as debt). I am sure they will attempt to buy the votes by also subsidizing a large percentage of people in the province to ensure a strong voter base, leaving the carbon tax to be paid primarily by companies and higher income earnings.
Deal Guru
Feb 8, 2014
12947 posts
2996 upvotes
TrevorK wrote:
Nov 23rd, 2015 1:44 pm
How can you trust something like this when the premier states that "Eventually, said Notley, the carbon taxes could be dedicated toward paying down public debt".
(http://www.ctvnews.ca/politics/alberta- ... -1.2669291)