• Last Updated:
  • Jul 10th, 2018 2:07 pm
Deal Fanatic
Jan 14, 2007
5494 posts
3013 upvotes
GTA

All USB Ports Died - Acer Laptop

I'm hoping someone can help me out. All of the USB ports on my wife's Acer laptop suddenly stopped working midday today. The laptop is about 4 years old and is sufficient for her needs so replacing it isn't really necessary. I've tried restarting, updating drivers, deleting and reinstalling the drivers, deleting the USB host controllers, updating Windows, etc. I'm not tech savvy at all so this was all done via searching online. Nothing has worked and I'm at a loss. Any ideas?

If the USB controller (hardware) is dead, is it a relatively straightforward, and hopefully inexpensive fix?
15 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 31, 2017
6980 posts
3250 upvotes
what does device manager say about the hubs?
Deal Fanatic
Jan 14, 2007
5494 posts
3013 upvotes
GTA
Device manager indicated everything is fine.
Deal Guru
Jul 7, 2017
10191 posts
5514 upvotes
SW corner of the cou…
If you (carefully) pen the computer, one of the ribbon connectors pretty much connects the USB ports (3 on the Aspire series). You could check if there is a physical problem.

Also, plug in a portable drive and see if it is giving power?
I smile when I see container ships sailing past my house laden with stuff made in China
Deal Addict
Dec 1, 2010
2556 posts
1630 upvotes
GTA