Alterna Bank High Interest eSavings Account

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 8th, 2017 1:37 am
Tags:
None
May 3, 2016
215 posts
16 upvotes
I'm new to Canada and Alterna Bank needs at least 6 months of credit history before one can open an account with them. Do you know what other banks or financial institutions (CDIC insured) that offers similar good interest rates and will issue bank cards?
Dec 12, 2016
105 posts
31 upvotes
wyho007 wrote:
Apr 3rd, 2017 10:22 pm
I'm new to Canada and Alterna Bank needs at least 6 months of credit history before one can open an account with them. Do you know what other banks or financial institutions (CDIC insured) that offers similar good interest rates and will issue bank cards?
No they don't. They cannot refuse a bank account to you because of lack of credit history. I would call them back and tell them this and if that doesn't work, call the FCAC.
Deal Addict
Dec 17, 2008
1615 posts
459 upvotes
Winnipeg
Here2day2 wrote:
Apr 4th, 2017 12:09 am
No they don't. They cannot refuse a bank account to you because of lack of credit history. I would call them back and tell them this and if that doesn't work, call the FCAC.
Yes they can... If they are not a federally regulated institution. So the question is.. Are they?

https://www.canada.ca/en/financial-cons ... ities.html

Your rights
Under Canadian law—subject to certain conditions—you have the right to open a personal bank account at a bank.

You must provide the bank with acceptable forms of identification in order to open a personal bank account. Other financial institutions, such as credit unions and caisses populaires, are generally regulated provincially and may have different requirements. Some credit unions are federally regulated. Federal consumer protection laws apply when dealing with a federal credit union.

https://www.canada.ca/en/financial-cons ... count.html

To open an account, you usually have to:

go in person to a bank or other financial institution, like a credit union