Hot Deals

[Amazon Canada] UPDATED PRICE $ 154.99 Intuit QuickBooks Desktop Pro 2018 - Accounting Software 2018 50% OFF

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 24th, 2017 2:51 am
Deal Addict
Jul 24, 2005
1171 posts
661 upvotes
djpr wrote:
Nov 22nd, 2017 2:52 pm
For those that are self-taught is it easy to learn Quickbooks via tutorial videos?
If you have a background in accounting, it should be easy or moderately difficult to learn it via tutorial videos and books.
Otherwise, you are in for a lot of pain...
Nov 30, 2002
499 posts
26 upvotes
Downtown Toronto
djpr wrote:
Nov 22nd, 2017 2:52 pm
For those that are self-taught is it easy to learn Quickbooks via tutorial videos?
I think it depends on your business a lot! For my business, going QB was a mistake.

When I started out I did an excel spreadsheet and it worked great. At that time I was under $30k, so I had no GST/HST issues to worry about. Also, USD and CAD were about equal, and I was doing most business in Canada at that time, so I didn't really have issues with currency exchange. I went QB when the exchange rate diverged again (2014, naturally), hoping that it could help me keep track. It can not.

1) QuickBooks (at least QB 2014) can't handle downloading mixed currency PayPal transactions.
2) QuickBooks (2014) can't handle HST Quick Method
3) QuickBooks breaks normal Windows shortcuts, for example Ctrl-A brings up Chart of Accounts, not Select All

It is really kind of horrible :/

But, I'm committed to it at this point, so I'm wondering if anybody knows whether any of my complaints are improved in the 2018 version :)
Deal Addict
Nov 8, 2005
1402 posts
119 upvotes
I recently got a macbook and have been using Quickbooks for years. Is there an equivalent Mac installer that I can use the license from this with? Or is Quickbooks Online the only option for Mac users? I really don't want to pay a subscription.
adamm
Deal Addict
Aug 24, 2010
1608 posts
606 upvotes
Toronto