Computers & Electronics

Would you buy a used TV from Amazon.ca warehouse deals?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 13th, 2018 4:20 pm
[OP]
Penalty Box
Nov 20, 2015
27 posts
16 upvotes
Nelson BC

Would you buy a used TV from Amazon.ca warehouse deals?

I'm looking at a 55" Sony XBR55X900E. I've been tracking this particular size model for a couple months on Amazon.ca. It currently lists new at $1298, so that's $1492 @ checkout which is just over my budget. I've been saving since December and at the end of the month I'll have exactly $1411 and that is like the top of the top of my budget. To go any higher I'd have to wait another 5 weeks. I'm in BC so there's tax and a $35 reg fee on that TV. I'm in a fairly remote small town so the nearest box stores are hundreds of miles away, and I have no car, making me pretty reliant on online purchases. There's a local Walmart but it stocks pretty crappy TV's.

There are Amazon.ca used warehouse models for slightly cheaper at $1168. That's $1348 @ checkout.

After reading and watching reviews I'd really like to get a Sony 900E.

Does anyone have any experience buying an Amazon.ca used warehouse deal TV?

Or any suggestions on equivalent quality in a 55" TV?

Thanks
8 replies
Dec 8, 2009
664 posts
134 upvotes
used items from Amazon hit and miss, so in your remote situation don' take risk and buy as Brand New and it was tested at SONY lab instead of some half azzed check by amazon staff. It is not big savings and Brand new gives peace of mind.
Dec 14, 2017
245 posts
492 upvotes
Damn, how do you live in a small remote town without a car
Jan 15, 2018
53 posts
74 upvotes
echo_jey wrote:
Mar 13th, 2018 10:42 am
used items from Amazon hit and miss, so in your remote situation don' take risk and buy as Brand New and it was tested at SONY lab instead of some half azzed check by amazon staff. It is not big savings and Brand new gives peace of mind.