Personal Finance

Amex vs VISA: which (annual fees waived) credit card to get?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 6th, 2014 1:27 pm
Tags:
None
Apr 20, 2012
6 posts
Saint-Laurent

Amex vs VISA: which (annual fees waived) credit card to get?

Hi guys,

I'm a student and Scotiabank is offering me a choice between their Scotiabank Gold Amex (20,000 bonus points; about $200; 4x points at certain locations) and ScotiaGold Passport VISA (5,000 bonus points ;) . I already have a no-frills MasterCard, but the one I choose will be my primary from credit card now on.

Which one should I take?
13 replies
Sep 24, 2010
917 posts
65 upvotes
Toronto
I like the Amex option as long as you can plan your spending to offset the annual fee.
Deal Addict
Oct 4, 2004
4349 posts
1588 upvotes
Vancouver
The Scotiabank Amex is a far better card with a far better sign-up bonus. Next year the card won't be free though.. If you have a no-frills credit card, perhaps the 1% you get "everywhere else" is still better than what you get now. Remember amex isn't accepted everywhere though.
Removed external link in signature.
Aug 14, 2013
548 posts
51 upvotes
Montreal, QC
Is this a professional program offered by Scotia?
the Amex Gold will bear an annual fee of 59$, and the Passport Gold will be free for professional students.
Amex is not widely accepted while Visa is accepted almost everywhere.
Dec 22, 2013
930 posts
223 upvotes
EDMONTON
What is this nofrills mastercard you speak of? Do you mean the PC mastercard?
Apr 20, 2012
6 posts
Saint-Laurent
MrAmex wrote: Is this a professional program offered by Scotia?
the Amex Gold will bear an annual fee of 59$, and the Passport Gold will be free for professional students.
Amex is not widely accepted while Visa is accepted almost everywhere.