• Apr 21st, 2017 9:36 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Oct 6, 2007
5135 posts
1328 upvotes
Kootenays
Straight nights is much better than swing shifts, days to afternoons to nights. That's the hardest.
Jan 25, 2008
174 posts
6 upvotes
I've been doing 11PM-7AM for the past 8 months or so. Most important thing is routine. I found that If I go to sleep right after a shift, I will only sleep for a 2-3 hours. However, If I do all my errands (gym, game, Netflix, internet browsing, groceries, relationship stuff, etc) first after coming home, it exhausts my body even more and am able to sleep roughly from 1PM-10PM.

Tips:
- Dark room (eye mask if needed)
- Minimize noise
- Have white noise in background if needed
- Have melatonin handy for those times you can't sleep or coming off weekend
- Take vitamin D pills
- Stay hydrated
Last edited by Stretchy on Apr 18th, 2017 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Deal Addict
Mar 8, 2007
1279 posts
72 upvotes
Did straight nights for almost 3 years as a Press Operator. Currently on straight days for the last 2 years.

Overall i think it was fine, i consider myself fairly nocturnal anyways and i was doing a lot of gaming into the wee hours prior to the job.

I'd sleep from 9-3 if i was really tired or 3-9 if i had errands to run or felt like staying up (i never sleep more then 6 hours unless its a weekend by choice).

I didn't experience any weight gain, mind you i had a job that kept me on my feet for 8 hours and somewhat physical activity. I still look far younger then my real age and haven't experienced any additional health issues (yet).
Buy/Sell/Trade with confidence, 50+ positive feedback.
Deal Addict
Feb 23, 2015
1318 posts
328 upvotes
Brampton, ON
I work nights, usually 12 hr shifts.

Do I enjoy it? I would say it isn't too bad because of the downtime I have. It gives me a chance to catch up on my school stuff as well as chit chat via Skype lol.

Do I plan on doing nights forever? Helllll no.
Deal Addict
Oct 18, 2004
3025 posts