Personal Finance

Anyone with experience with Knowledge First Financial - RESP??

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 18th, 2017 7:23 pm
Tags:
None
Nov 28, 2016
1 posts
Knowledge First Financial is a terrible company!!

I went on a leave in 2015 to take an internship for a year and didn't need my Education Assistance Payment (EAP). When I returned to school the following year (2016), they refuse to give me the $1,000 entitled to me simply because I didn't apply for the EAP in 2015.

They keep saying they sent out mail to remind me to submit my EAP request each year before it was due, but I've never received anything from them. I wasn't even aware of the consequences of not apply for my EAP. Who knew that if you don't request for money, they just keep it from you forever. Doesn't seem right.
Mar 4, 2015
29 posts
8 upvotes
Montreal
My parents had a RESP for me in KFF back in the day, as a student I didn't have any issues collecting my EAP, I think I got 3 payments over 3 years, and that was it, even though I was in school for 4 years?

I did have to fill out the form each year, which I never got a reminder for either, I just kind of remembered at some point during the year (I'm amazed I never forgot completely)

I can't speak for whether it was worthwhile as an investment or not, as I have no idea how much my parents paid in, and they don't remember either since it was so long ago. I don't even remember how much the payments I got were, but it didn't seem like that much money, even as a broke college student. However, it was relatively painless to use, they contacted my parents at approximately the time I would be starting university and got everything set up, so at least there's that?

If I had kids I'd do my own RESP, I can't imagine their returns would be very high since they'll be chopping off a commission and handle a relatively small volume of assets from which they need to draw to pay employees and stuff
Deal Addict
Jul 8, 2009
2028 posts
471 upvotes
Edmonton
dvd5 wrote: