None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Nov 9, 2008
1958 posts
196 upvotes
Thornhill

anyone had to hire a collection agency?

i have 3-4 individuals/buisnesses that refuse to pay, and while i let a couple slide, it's getting to a point where i feel like they are abusing my kindness :/

i'm looking into collection agencies but i'm new to this, anyone have any experience dealing with them? any you guys reccommend and anything i should know? :0

thank you!
10 replies
Deal Addict
May 24, 2003
3886 posts
566 upvotes
Lincoln, Ontario
Go to a paralegal, that's what we have done - and we've gotten results the 2 times we have used them
[OP]
Deal Addict
Nov 9, 2008
1958 posts
196 upvotes
Thornhill
x-batman wrote:
Jul 12th, 2016 12:48 pm
Go to a paralegal, that's what we have done - and we've gotten results the 2 times we have used them
we tried, with no results. and i have no intention of filing a lawsuit... just got out of one and it drained me financially and mentally :(

im doing some search on collection agencies and isnt it just that i sell the rights to collect the money for a small fee, and that's it? or is it more complex than that
Deal Addict
Nov 27, 2005
1449 posts
341 upvotes
I don't understand when you say they don't want to pay. You have no contract with them? Have you asked them why they won't pay?
[OP]
Deal Addict
Nov 9, 2008
1958 posts
196 upvotes
Thornhill
djpr wrote:
Jul 12th, 2016 3:18 pm
I don't understand when you say they don't want to pay. You have no contract with them? Have you asked them why they won't pay?
we do have a contract with them, they just flat out ignore calls, texts and emails, or constantly defer payment.
Deal Addict
Nov 27, 2005
1449 posts
341 upvotes
Bencherstyle wrote:
Jul 13th, 2016 11:53 am
we do have a contract with them, they just flat out ignore calls, texts and emails, or constantly defer payment.