Computers & Electronics

Current Cogeco Customer wanting VOIP HELP!!!

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 6th, 2011 12:09 am
Tags:
None
Jul 27, 2007
147 posts
2 upvotes
Ontario

Current Cogeco Customer wanting VOIP HELP!!!

I currently have cogeco internet and basic phone. I am spending around 80 bucks a month for the 2. First off I want to know if its going to be worth my while to change to someone else. Secondly, I have it set up for cable internet and prefer the reliability and speed upgrade with my cable over DSL. I run a Dlink DIR-615 wireless N router for the wireless capability. Im brand new with this venture into the world of VOIP. Is it possible to have voip with a cable internet connection? If so, what would I have to add or modify from my setup to make this possible? Im hoping someone can help me with a step by step process of what Id need to do. Im open to leaving cogeco for both internet and phone, however id like to stay with the cable style internet for reasons stated above. My phone lines were converted when a cogeco tech installed the cogeco phone from the pre-existing bell setup. So is it worth it for me to possible make the change in internet and/or phone? I need long distance calling. How much am I looking at saving? Any help is appreciated.. thx
4 replies
Mar 22, 2010
59 posts
17 upvotes