Personal Finance

will cancelling a 9 years old visa hurt my credit file?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 3rd, 2011 10:27 am
Tags:
None
Dec 24, 2007
858 posts
144 upvotes
GTA

will cancelling a 9 years old visa hurt my credit file?

I have been keeping a cibc dividen for almost 9 years since university. After started working I have had many new credit cards applied and cancelled during the past years, but only this cibc visa I have kept that because I heard that keeping the oldest visa will help your credit file. Is that true? This card really becomes redundant and I don't want to keep it anymore..
8 replies
May 19, 2006
543 posts
141 upvotes
Not a big deal. A temporary blip especially if you have no recent activity on it.

Late payments and defaults will hurt alot more!
Large amount of available credit should be avoided as well because it increases risk for the lender.
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2006
3713 posts
51 upvotes
pandorazw wrote: I have been keeping a cibc dividen for almost 9 years since university. After started working I have had many new credit cards applied and cancelled during the past years, but only this cibc visa I have kept that because I heard that keeping the oldest visa will help your credit file. Is that true? This card really becomes redundant and I don't want to keep it anymore..

I heard that too. It was on CTV, Pat Foran Consumer tips. For that reason I have kept my CIBC Visa and Amex still. Use once in a while.
Ban Steve Downie from NHL
Self Proclaimed PYwner Late Miss. Masco:My Gramma is gooder than your typos Says GrammerNazi.
smitty9999 on saving power: nooB Powers on the PC just to post stfu.
board123:when challenged runs away as fast as it can, hide behind mommy.
Sep 19, 2004
745 posts
402 upvotes
Toronto
maybe you could just call to decrease the credit limit to the minimum ($500?) and charge it once a year to keep it alive. I guess this is a better way.
Deal Addict
Jun 23, 2009
1154 posts
140 upvotes
YUL