Personal Finance

Unclaimed Post-Secondary Education tution and student loan interest for Tax return

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 10th, 2011 5:29 pm
Tags:
None
Apr 22, 2011
432 posts
39 upvotes

Unclaimed Post-Secondary Education tution and student loan interest for Tax return

Hey Guys,

I graduated from University in 2007 and was just recently talking to some one about claiming tuition on your taxes. I have done some small research so far and it looks like you can claim tuition, books, student loan interest towards your taxes.

My Situation:
Tuition was about: 28k
Books: ....i don't have any receipts and doubt i still can claim
Student Loan: had to start paying in 07, finished it off by 09 had about $2500 in interest i paid all together

I make currently ~$70,000 living in Nova Scotia

So the question is am I still able to claim anything? I didn't bother when I first got out because I wasn't making good money and I assumed afterwards that I was past any tax benefit.

If I am still able to claim what should I do first? I can reach my school and get the proper forms and proof that I have X amount of credits from the school and was a full time student for four years.

Also what tax bracket would the deduction take off (would it still be the top bracket?) and whats the limit per year, etc etc

I think I might be able to claim some good cash if this turns out right.

If not no big deal as I wasnt expecting any money
14 replies
Apr 22, 2011
432 posts
39 upvotes
Read through it,

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/tx/ndvdls/tpcs ... d-eng.html