PDA

View Full Version : 2buy.ca - Is this a REAL site or fake?



WTF REF
Sep 16th, 2011, 10:45 AM
http://buy2.ca/toronto-daily-deals/

I was browsing and came across this site, but all the past deals seem made up, and there's no links to them.

Anyone? Thoughts, feedback?

Cas77
Sep 16th, 2011, 11:05 AM
Domain name: buy2.ca
Domain status: registered
Creation date: 2011/04/11
Expiry date: 2012/04/11
Updated date: 2011/04/25

Registrar:
Name: Tucows.com Co.
Number: 156

Name servers:
ns1.dotblock.com
ns2.dotblock.com


If a company doesn't publish their name and mailing address on their domain registration I avoid like the plague regardless of their legitimacy!

matdwyer
Sep 16th, 2011, 11:41 AM
Domain name: buy2.ca
Domain status: registered
Creation date: 2011/04/11
Expiry date: 2012/04/11
Updated date: 2011/04/25

Registrar:
Name: Tucows.com Co.
Number: 156

Name servers:
ns1.dotblock.com
ns2.dotblock.com


If a company doesn't publish their name and mailing address on their domain registration I avoid like the plague regardless of their legitimacy!

FYI - All .ca domains are private - Whois does not allow you to look up their info/phone number!

Cas77
Sep 16th, 2011, 01:40 PM
FYI - All .ca domains are private - Whois does not allow you to look up their info/phone number!

Domain name: redflagdeals.ca
Domain status: registered
Creation date: 2001/08/26
Expiry date: 2012/08/26
Updated date: 2010/10/14

Registrar:
Name: Webnames.ca Inc.
Number: 70

Registrant:
Name: Yellow Pages Group Co./ Groupe Pages Jaunes Cie.

Administrative contact:
Name: Treena Cooper
Postal address: 16 Place du Commerce, Ile des Soeurs
Verdun QC H3E 2A5 Canada
Phone: 1 514 9347350
Fax: 1 514 9344076
Email: legal.classification@ypg.com

Technical contact:
Name: Legal Classification
Postal address: 16, Place du Commerce
Montreal QC H3E2A5 Canada
Phone: +1.5149347350x
Fax:
Email: legal.classification@ypg.com

Name servers:
ns1.clearskymedia.ca 76.74.243.25
ns2.clearskymedia.ca 76.74.243.111


EDIT: Here's 1 more I was just on that I checked for shits and giggles:


Domain name: tdwaterhouse.ca
Domain status: registered
Creation date: 2000/09/19
Expiry date: 2013/06/24
Updated date: 2011/05/11

Registrar:
Name: CSC Corporate Domains (Canada) Company
Number: 2397937

Registrant:
Name: The Toronto-Dominion Bank

Administrative contact:
Name: Roman Melnyk
Postal address: 79 Wellington Street West
14th Floor
Toronto ON M5K1A2 Canada
Phone: +1.4169828222
Fax: +1.4169446605
Email: dnsadmin@tdbank.ca

Technical contact:
Name: Roman Melnyk
Postal address: 79 Wellington Street West
14th Floor
Toronto ON M5K1A2 Canada
Phone: +1.4169828222
Fax: +1.4169446605
Email: dnsadmin@tdbank.ca

Name servers:
nstorcpo.tdbank.ca 142.205.208.13
nstorsoc.tdbank.ca 142.205.232.13

AmirPars
Sep 16th, 2011, 02:38 PM
I think individual .ca registrations are automatically private unless the person wants their info published. All business .ca registrations are public.

zitakatalin
Jan 18th, 2012, 10:39 AM
http://buy2.ca/toronto-daily-deals/

I was browsing and came across this site, but all the past deals seem made up, and there's no links to them.

Anyone? Thoughts, feedback?

I was looking for this to rant.

I reported them on Better Business Bureau (dunno if that really does anything). I ordered 3 items from them in July. It is now January! Still didn't receive the items. They only have one phone # (1-855 something) which when I've been calling in the last few months I was always able to leave a message on. Suddenly, as of a few days ago it's now a fax machine. So I sent a fax explaining my issue. They don't answer emails and I just plugged in their site and it's no longer working.

So yeah, I'd say scam. And I lost $50.

FML.

Just noticed that the thread title is 2buy.ca - should be buy2.ca ...

jhuynh
Jan 18th, 2012, 11:19 AM
Tucows has been around since the mid 90's I think so I guess it's just a new group site from them. Unless this isn't actually a site from Tucows.

edit: never mind, I skipped the part where they were the registrar one line above the tucows line lol.

steve-0101
Jan 18th, 2012, 11:27 AM
Tucows has been around since the mid 90's I think so I guess it's just a new group site from them. Unless this isn't actually a site from Tucows.

Tucows is the registrar, not the registrant.

jhuynh
Jan 18th, 2012, 01:54 PM
Tucows is the registrar, not the registrant.

Oops didn't read one line up that it was the registrar.

CRXGSR
Jan 18th, 2012, 05:18 PM
So I sent a fax explaining my issue.

keep sending faxes until all their paper is wasted. :twisted:

WTF REF
Jan 20th, 2012, 12:19 AM
They're prob XSV360

zitakatalin
Jan 26th, 2012, 09:50 AM
keep sending faxes until all their paper is wasted. :twisted:

I have, but now the # turned from a fax # to a phone #, and whosever phone # it is (I can't catch the name, it's heavily accented) their mailbox is full. So I'm calling daily but can't get through.

Also, the website is now down, hence all emails are being returned undeliverable.

zitakatalin
Jan 26th, 2012, 09:51 AM
They're prob XSV360

Yeah, the products were supposed to come from here. I've also contacted these people numerous times but nothing. >:(

soulchief
Jan 26th, 2012, 11:15 AM
Determining If they should be avoided enough just if they keep their Whois private means nothing. You can litterly type your "address" as 111 address, Internet, Worldwide. Phone #: 9-999-999-9999. And they won't do anything unless the registrar gets complaints... They would then be asked to verify their address. The register I use also gives a free year of Whois protection with a new domain.