PDA

View Full Version : BJPhoto.net Canadian Photography Retailer



Endracion
Feb 15th, 2012, 12:14 PM
I was wondering if anyone has anything to say on them: http://www.bjphoto.net/BJ_Default.aspx

Obviously, the website could be much better, but what are your retail or online experiences if any?

Physical address in Waterloo:
468 Phillip Street
Waterloo, Ontario
N2L 5J2, Canada

kennyhohoho
Feb 15th, 2012, 12:37 PM
I was wondering if anyone has anything to say on them: http://www.bjphoto.net/BJ_Default.aspx

Obviously, the website could be much better, but what are your retail or online experiences if any?

Physical address in Waterloo:
468 Phillip Street
Waterloo, Ontario
N2L 5J2, Canada

BJ Photo? lol...

I can imagine people trying to Google them and getting VERY different results. :lol:

Endracion
Feb 15th, 2012, 12:40 PM
Hahaha, yeah I thought the same thing :P Pretty bad start if you ask me.

jimmy-j
Feb 15th, 2012, 12:40 PM
BJ Photo? lol...

I can imagine people trying to Google them and getting VERY different results. :lol:

lol don't google from work.

sorta like the pen island website

nelsonmp5
Feb 15th, 2012, 01:45 PM
how many online retailers do you know that accept the Sears card??:confused:

Endracion
Feb 15th, 2012, 01:52 PM
Actually I see that Canada Computers (at least the Laval one) has started accepting them.

Tolo
Feb 15th, 2012, 08:37 PM
I was wondering if anyone has anything to say on them: http://www.bjphoto.net/BJ_Default.aspx

Obviously, the website could be much better, but what are your retail or online experiences if any?

Physical address in Waterloo:
468 Phillip Street
Waterloo, Ontario
N2L 5J2, Canada

Totally legit - family run business since the early 80's - father and son are really nice guys and super helpful. Have bought some items off of them and English isn't their native tongue - but they do speak clearly without thick accent.

lubintasevski
Feb 24th, 2012, 04:43 AM
The site has some serious issues for a company that's been around for as long as it has been. Other than the products and prices listed on the site, the site itself looks like it hasn't seen an update to the design from the '90's (I really don't know) judging from how it looks when I go to the site now. When on the product page, I click on the cameras picture and I get an error page. When I select the accessories, the text next to the product pictures is blue on a blue gradient background making it hard to read on my 27" monitor. There is a lack of consistency navigating from page to page, reminiscent of the old html days of the '90's before CSS and other internet tools. I'm sure their checkout system and service are likely better than the design of the site, but I'm sure I am not the only one turned off by their site. I'm not even comparing to Vistek or Henry's sites, but with other similar smaller retailers I've seen in the past and recently. If they had the best prices (including shipping), I'm sure I would buy from them, but they would not be the first site I would search for buying new gear.

Jon Lai
Feb 24th, 2012, 11:40 AM
At least it's not a new registration...

Registrar: TUCOWS.COM CO.
Whois Server: whois.tucows.com
Referral URL: http://domainhelp.opensrs.net
Status: OK

Expiration Date: 2012-11-17
Creation Date: 2003-11-17
Last Update Date: 2011-09-17

CanKon
Feb 26th, 2012, 01:52 PM
BJ Photo is legit.

sylpherware
Feb 27th, 2012, 07:41 PM
While I've never done business with them, I have passed by their storefront a couple of times when I was in Waterloo.