View Full Version : 17" MacBook Pro for $849 + $29 Shipping - Possible Scam
dwalker19
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:12 PM
http://www.rewardpurchase.eu/products.php?product=MacBook-Pro-i7
It says its the 17" model, retails for $2499 on Apple.ca
Can only find news articles about the site, no reviews.
http://www.mmdnewswire.com/apple-macbook-air-101399.html
refraxion
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:14 PM
I wouldn't trust that, but who knows.
Seems like its the same description on every site I visit. Doesn't sound that legit.
dfwrp
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:20 PM
Seems like a scam or some super light Macbook.
Weight: 1.00 Grams
wongbr
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:21 PM
also all the "reviews from customers" are all giving it a stellar rating for cheapness.
Tried to do a whois but didn't come up with much info as the registrant is undisclosed
AzureD
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:25 PM
if it seems too good to be true that's because it is
Karlis
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:26 PM
Did anyone confirmed if this is true?
spartan on deck
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:27 PM
doesn't look too legit...
ToniCipriani
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:28 PM
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1354916
These guys over here pointed stuff that's on their privacy disclaimer:
DISCLAIMER:
There are no guarantees made that any actions you take as a result of following any information on this site will increase your income.
*
Copyright 2012. All Rights Reserved.
http://www.rewardpurchase.eu
All brand names and product names used on this website are trade names, service marks, trademarks, or registered trademarks of their respective owners. Futhermore, no mentioned product or brand endorses this website. www.rewardpurchase.eu is a resource and provides information on baby car seat covers.
toguy
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:29 PM
The reviews are hilarious...obvious scam. This one's my favourite:
WOOHHHHHH!
I ordered 7 to resell in ebay , the shipment arrived .Perfect.
A++ service Keep it up
cheers !
Larry
USA
cmdr_shepard
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:38 PM
I think I'd rather buy a p-p-p-powerbook!!!
http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/
daviiiiiid
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:41 PM
I think I'd rather buy a p-p-p-powerbook!!!
http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/
I remember reading that few years back. Best story ever
kuothebest
Apr 20th, 2012, 06:59 PM
hot ordered one!
NOT!
netusername
Apr 20th, 2012, 07:05 PM
I think I'd rather buy a p-p-p-powerbook!!!
http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/
but wait, what happened to jeff???
any updates?
JAC
Apr 20th, 2012, 07:05 PM
Sigh. "Secure checkout" is not secure. Payment by bank transfer. Any questions?
StormBringer44
Apr 20th, 2012, 07:17 PM
I think I'd rather buy a p-p-p-powerbook!!!
http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/
hahaha so much win! :D
devil2k
Apr 20th, 2012, 07:21 PM
I think I'd rather buy a p-p-p-powerbook!!!
http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/
Made my day lol
nsx
Apr 20th, 2012, 07:33 PM
:arrow:
Moved from "Hot Deals" to "Shopping Discussion."
bigben-
Apr 20th, 2012, 07:51 PM
darn it - I was looking for the paypal button
:D
cryingx
Apr 20th, 2012, 08:34 PM
but wait, what happened to jeff???
any updates?
i read this story a while back, and that jeff guy is well and live lol, i read that he just got lazy and didnt wanna answer emails
i googled "mynameisjeff" and found him at www.twitter.com/mynameisjeff
one of the best stories on the internet imo :p
cmdr_shepard
Apr 21st, 2012, 03:05 AM
but wait, what happened to jeff???
any updates?
Yup, as cryingx said above, looks like he's alive and well - same location, same name, and he talks about the p-p-p-powerbook! ;). According to his Twitter feed though, it looks like he did respond to the guys at Zug but apparently they deleted/didn't read/ignored his e-mail or just changed the story for more dramatic flair.
JettaRed
May 17th, 2012, 11:23 PM
I know I was foolish, but the deal seems too good to pass up. Also, there was no negative information on the Internet or complaints filed with the US Internet Crime Complaint Center (www.ic3.gov). Also, the bank account that they want you to deposit the money into is a Bank of America active bank account located in Texas.
I am current pursuing means for recovering my money. Beware! More will be posted.
Tabooger
May 18th, 2012, 07:49 AM
I know I was foolish, but the deal seems too good to pass up. Also, there was no negative information on the Internet or complaints filed with the US Internet Crime Complaint Center (www.ic3.gov). Also, the bank account that they want you to deposit the money into is a Bank of America active bank account located in Texas.
I am current pursuing means for recovering my money. Beware! More will be posted.
Some people...
boyoflondon
May 18th, 2012, 08:38 AM
Bought 10 ... RFD effect!