• Last Updated:
  • Jul 7th, 2013 6:05 am
Tags:
None
Mar 7, 2011
160 posts
30 upvotes

Gaming/media computer under $500- now looking for input on AMD 6800K build

I want something to play most recent games made on good settings and I don't want to pay over $500.

If I could wind up paying less for a minimal decrease in performance I'm fine with that.

There are not too many deals for pre built pcs with graphics cards for this price. Am I better building my own (I have no experience with this, though relatively confident about putting it together, and no idea what I need hardware wise) or waiting for something to come up from a store?
73 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 18, 2010
7725 posts
5238 upvotes
Canada
Do you need monitor/OS/keyboard/mouse.
Mar 7, 2011
160 posts
30 upvotes
I don't need a keyboard/OS/monitor. I'm not really into FPS games but the most recent game I want to play is Bioshock revolution. I also want to play Skyrim and borderlands 2. Medium settings would probably be fine.

I should mention I have a 250gb SSD (but no 3.5" bracket) and a 1.5tb wd caviar green recovered from a external hard drive so that should cut the cost down. I also may not need a dvd reader/writer. I have another 3.5" drive I'd like to use if cost permits.
Jan 14, 2013
854 posts
99 upvotes
Gatineau
a Core 2 Quad with a GTX 570 - 670 + with 4 GB ram should be enough for those games on medium settings
The Biggest LIE I tell myself, I don't need to write that down, I'll remember it.
Mar 7, 2011
160 posts
30 upvotes
Is there some kind of web app that I can use to find a suitable build at the best price?

With Haswell's release, will the price of core 2 quads be going down much?
May 18, 2007
205 posts
6 upvotes
teamomega369 wrote: Is there some kind of web app that I can use to find a suitable build at the best price?

With Haswell's release, will the price of core 2 quads be going down much?