• Last Updated:
  • Mar 8th, 2014 7:34 pm
Tags:
Aug 9, 2010
276 posts
286 upvotes

GTX 770 Price / Brands

Hey guys
So i've been pretty much fondled over by the market for GPUs lately. I've been wanting to change my current MSI Twin Frozr Radeon 6950 for a new card over the past... i'd say 8-12 months.

I've come to the conclusion that I can't wait any longer ( unless someone tells me that the market will become normal again in the next few months ), and that Radeons are out of the question.

I'm now left with GTX's, which I have no experience in. I've been looking at websites like Tom's and Anand and VideoBenchmarks and such, to help me with my decision.

What I need : I am gaming at 1440p, so I definitly need 4GB ( which seems pretty rare for Geforce right now for some reason... ). I also dont wanna pay over 400$. According to some websites, the best would be the GTX 770 at a 310$ price point ( which i'll come to in the next few lines ).

Apparently, the 3 brands I should be looking at is Asus, Gigabyte and MSI. So i've been using all the tools/websites at my disposal to see what the price would be for the 4gb version of these cards...

The best price I could come up with was ... wait for it... a Gigabyte gtx 770 4gb from FUTURESHOP
I never buy @ Futureshop at their price. EVER. I think the last time I went there without pricematching was 5 years ago.. So something's wrong. I think I might have missed a better price somewhere else.. Because right now, all the prices for 4gb seem to go in the 480$ range for the 3 brands I specified...

So my questions to any of you is :
1. Am I looking at the right brands ?
2. Should I buy now or wait ?
3. At the current market, should I expect to pay 390$ for a gtx 770 (for these 3 brands, 4GB) or are there better prices to be found - REGULARLY - ( i don't want to wait 3-4 month for a deal that MIGHT happen on a crap-sale from NCIX or Futureshop just to save 20$ .. on a mail-in rebate )