Personal Finance

How long do you hold onto stocks for the long-term?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 12th, 2014 4:20 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Mar 19, 2010
2054 posts
283 upvotes
Onterrible

How long do you hold onto stocks for the long-term?

When do you guys dump stocks?

I am a very novice investor. I only have two stocks right now. Fannie Mae and Nokia, and I have various mutual funds.
All are doing very well for me.

My friend told me that as soon as he makes 20% he sells the stock. I've definitely made way more than 20% on the two stocks I have, but the problem is, if I sell those two stocks I have no idea what other stocks to buy?

What strategies do you guys employ for the long term investor.
Check out my >>Blog<< to learn how to get CashBack from Shopping Online! (Almost EVERY online retailer)
16 replies
Mar 31, 2013
396 posts
84 upvotes
Toronto
I try to think about each stock/etf I own in terms of if I would buy it today if I weren't already invested. If the answer is yes, then keep holding it. If it is no, then sell.

The 20% figure seems arbitrary and in place for no apparent reason.
Deal Fanatic
Dec 14, 2010
7113 posts
9300 upvotes
My strategy is to invest in growing dividend stocks. So I never sell, as long as the company keeps growing its operating earnings. The objective is perpetual growing income from dividends.

I only sell if fundamentals deteriorate, like falling operating earnings for 3 years, payout ratio above 100% or dividend cut.

Selling when you are up x% works if you are trading (short term), not investing.

Rod
Deal Addict
Mar 19, 2010
2054 posts
283 upvotes
Onterrible
rodbarc wrote: My strategy is to invest in growing dividend stocks. So I never sell, as long as the company keeps growing its operating earnings. The objective is perpetual growing income from dividends.

I only sell if fundamentals deteriorate, like falling operating earnings for 3 years, payout ratio above 100% or dividend cut.