Computers & Electronics

So Windows 8 Is Going To Nickel & Dime Me For Basic XP Goodies?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 1st, 2014 12:15 pm
Penalty Box
Oct 19, 2012
3359 posts
421 upvotes
Toronto

So Windows 8 Is Going To Nickel & Dime Me For Basic XP Goodies?

I'm new to Windows 8 just changing over from XP, my last operating system. I'm shocked that I cannot even make a letter with my brand new desktop PC because the bloody thing lacks WORD? Seriously? Even Windows 3.1 had Word and this massive operating system wants me to purchase separately something that I used to have on Windows 3.1 for free? :facepalm:

Or is it that I cannot find it and it's buried somewhere?
74 replies
Deal Expert
Apr 16, 2001
16514 posts
3319 upvotes
You mean Wordpad? No version of Windows came with Word.

And yes, Win 8 has Wordpad.

I'd be shocked if you could 'make a letter', regardless.
Blacklisted companies: Roku, Lenovo, Motorola, TP-Link, D-Link, Samsung, HP, LG, Public Mobile, EVGA, Blizzard
Penalty Box
Oct 19, 2012
3359 posts
421 upvotes
Toronto
That's weird I never had a desktop that did not had Wordpad on it, even on a 486 PC I had a program to type letters and resumes. No way I'm going to pay more than $19.99 for Wordpad or a similar program.
Jan 1, 2008
576 posts
230 upvotes
Brossard
You could also download a program like LibreOfice (Cnet review plus download link):
http://download.cnet.com/LibreOffice/30 ... torsreview

Or OpenOffice (also free):

http://www.openoffice.org/download/

Kingsoft Office (kind of free):
http://www.kingsoftstore.com/

OP, did you have a name brand computer? The company that assembled your computer probably bundled MS Office or MS Suite or something in there.
Deal Expert
May 14, 2008
41890 posts
1783 upvotes
Canada
JAC wrote: You mean Wordpad? No version of Windows came with Word.

Yeah. Or perhaps he meant Notepad?