Tags:
None
Nov 3, 2013
57 posts
10 upvotes
Kitchener, ON

TD Travel First Class Visa vs. Scotia Gold AMEX

Hi Everyone,

I am a user of the TD Travel First Class Visa (not the Aeroplan one) and I was recently "pre-approved" for Scotia's Gold Amex card. I've been reading this forum about others who have received the offer as well and I ended up taking the Amex because of the sign-up bonuses. However, I'm thinking whether or not I should keep the card in the future because I cannot get the fees waived. Gas and groceries at 4% can easily match the $99 annual fee, but given that TD's fee can be waived, I'm having a hard time determining if it's worthwhile to keep both cards since I'm only a recent graduate from University.

I looked into the cards but I wanted some more opinions from others. Here is the summary of my findings so far:

Rewards
TD Visa Infinite:
- Normal Purchases - 3 TD points/$1 (1.5% return)
- TD Expedia - 9 TD points/$1 (4.5% return)

Scotia Gold Amex:
- 4 points/$1 at eligible gas stations, grocery stores, and dining/entertainment (4% return)
- 1 point/$1 elsewhere (1% return)
Option to transfer points to Avios or Aeroplan
I read that converting is the optimal way to get returns on your points, but I'm not too familiar with this loyalty programs to understand how this enhances the points.

Insurance
TD Visa Infinite:
- 15 days travel & medical
- Trip cancellation & trip interruption
- Common carrier travel accident insurance
- Delayed & lost baggage
- Auto rental collision/loss damage

Scotia Gold Amex:
- 25 days travel & medical over 15 days
- Otherwise, similar coverage unless I missed another major difference

Fees
TD Visa Infinite: $120 - waived with Select Services
Scotia Gold Amex: $99 - cannot waive fees