Personal Finance

Tax question (moving expenses for students)

• Last Updated:
  • May 6th, 2014 12:39 am
Tags:
None
Jun 8, 2009
24 posts

Tax question (moving expenses for students)

I read a few different articles about moving expenses deductions specifically for students, but I'm still a bit confused. I realize that I can only deduct moving expenses against awarded (scholarships, bursaries, grants, etc...) income in the year of the return, but can I carry-forward those expenses given that I had no awarded income in the years I was a student and then use those deductions against employment income (in those future years)?

To be more concrete, I went to university for full-time studies for four years. During three summers, I moved to my parents' cottage to work for the summer - both the cottage and the workplace were like 300km away from where I lived while at university, so I am eligible for moving expenses. I know I can deduct the 300km moving expenses to the cottage against my employment income, but can I also deduct the 300km moving expenses when I moved back to school in September?

Furthermore, I moved out to Alberta for my second degree, finished it, moved back to Ontario to look for work, but after months of no success, I moved back again to Alberta for work. Does anyone know if I can claim moving expenses twice for this, once when I moved to Alberta for school and then again for work?

I realize I may need to see a tax professional for answers, but perhaps other people have come across this and already know the answer. Thanks in advance.
3 replies
Feb 23, 2009
31 posts
6 upvotes
Victoria