Tags:
None
Sep 29, 2012
792 posts
68 upvotes
Toronto

making cash money

hey

i am making $3500 cash a month .. is there any limit to deposit in the bank ? will government tax after some limit ?
or is it ok just continue depositing at?

Thank you
44 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 23, 2009
1154 posts
140 upvotes
YUL
At that point you def need to work out a way to launder it.
An extra $42,000 of unexplained income/expenses will be hard to explain.
Deal Addict
Jan 19, 2006
4624 posts
1064 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
You're okay to continue depositing it, but you're supposed to report the income.
After you hit a amount, the interest you generate may cause a T5 to be generated, and you should report those too.
If it's a drastic change from your previous behaviour, your bank CSR may wonder about it...
Sep 29, 2012
792 posts
68 upvotes
Toronto
i am almost 20 , i work 1 job before where it was direct deposit to bank but it was only like 600.
i have been doing this for last 8 months. i have lots of spending as well so i dont save 3500 but around 1000 a month . if i were to report where should i report it?
Deal Addict
Jan 2, 2012
4596 posts
3099 upvotes
Toronto
http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/gncy/lrt/lrn-mr-eng.html
Operating in cash and failing to keep records does not make you immune to taxes. If your lifestyle is not in line with the income you report, and you cannot explain the difference, the CRA can assess taxes based on indirect or alternate methods of calculating your income.
Deal Expert
Jun 9, 2003
25310 posts
2536 upvotes
Markham, ON
eventually you'll get caught ;)

then they will pull records for 7 years....good luck lol

one of your clients will mistakenly claim the expense...cross audit...blam!
Sep 29, 2012
792 posts
68 upvotes
Toronto
thats why i wanted to know if there is any limit . i know cra can tax me if they find out.
Dec 24, 2007
858 posts
144 upvotes
GTA
rob444 wrote: http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/gncy/lrt/lrn-mr-eng.html