None
Penalty Box
Apr 16, 2012
3565 posts
688 upvotes
Greely

Where to invest $50K???

Hey guise!

I managed to accumulate $50,000 over last 5 years and I am looking for advice on how to invest $50,000! I am thinking of maayyyybe stocks but I get really nervous about it!!

I'm open to anything.

Thanks!
108 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 29, 2010
4475 posts
811 upvotes
techcrium wrote: Hey guise!

I managed to accumulate $50,000 over last 5 years and I am looking for advice on how to invest $50,000! I am thinking of maayyyybe stocks but I get really nervous about it!!

I'm open to anything.

Thanks!
Look at the thread "Where to invest 75k" where i recommended the OP to look at the thread "Looking to invest 35k"

Is it obvious that i'm a developer? Doing some nested loops here.
Jan 31, 2014
96 posts
35 upvotes
Vancouver
Invest CAD in XIU and USD in SPY if you want equity exposure. These are the largest 1:1 ETFs that follow the S&P 60 TSX and S&P 500 in the respective markets.
Mar 13, 2009
781 posts
212 upvotes
Maple
theeconomist wrote: Invest CAD in XIU and USD in SPY. These are the largest 1:1 ETFs that follow the S&P 60 TSX and S&P 500 in the respective markets.
And then wait for another 2008 and watch your money losing 30-50%.
Deal Addict
Feb 9, 2013
1912 posts
1314 upvotes
Mississauga
flafson wrote: Look at the thread "Where to invest 75k" where i recommended the OP to look at the thread "Looking to invest 35k"

I think you just created an endless loop to the other thread LOL
Jul 28, 2014
123 posts
15 upvotes
Toronto, ON
Word of advice to OP, don't do anything that anyone says to do in this thread, until more information is provided by you. This includes what your current job is, what your income is like, what your goals for these funds are, what your risk is, how would you feel if you lost 10,20,30% of these funds. Do you have additional savings or only these? What is your investment knowledge like? Have you invested before?