View Full Version : Is this likely a scam?
lazarus
Jul 4th, 2007, 11:47 AM
http://img21.imagevenue.com/loc951/th_63719_untitled_122_951lo.JPG (http://img21.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=63719_untitled_122_951lo.JPG)
I was just browsing cause I was looking to maybe buy a cheap 89 - 92 supra, and this ad came up..
I've never used Kajiji, and was wondering how much scamming goes on with this website..
This car looks like it's in decent condition and should be going for at least 10 - 20k IMO.. Just reading the guys ad (and seeing the pics) smells of scam..
esq05
Jul 4th, 2007, 11:52 AM
WOW, is that really the car for sale... but yea, just the pics say its a scam... worth to check it out tho, just leave your wallet at home
Atomic Chip
Jul 4th, 2007, 12:03 PM
I know nothing about Kajiji. But why not call the seller up and arrange to see the car in person? If it seems in good shape, do the appropriate due diligence and you should be okay.
lazarus
Jul 4th, 2007, 12:17 PM
I sent him an email to get more info and setup a time to meet. Too good to be true deal if it's true though. heh (unless the car is non running)
thephenom
Jul 4th, 2007, 12:25 PM
Price seems way too good to be true.
boyoflondon
Jul 4th, 2007, 12:41 PM
Its a scam .. I remember reading about this long time ago. Forgot exactly how it works, but stay away from it!
The Destroyer
Jul 4th, 2007, 12:49 PM
Definitely looks like a scam to me. Only way you'd get a 94 Supra that cheap is if it were written off and you'd buy this to scrap some parts off of it. I'd stay away, and just keep looking...
Jyeatbvg69
Jul 4th, 2007, 12:57 PM
i dont think its a scam. ive been searching kajiji a lot to for a used car, anda there are many sellers that are selling cars for that cheap. the thing is, even though its a nice car now, its old, and in a few years ur probably gonna have to replace engine, wheels, suspension, etc. the seller probably doesnt want to do that.
yes its a nice car, but if the motor has 250k+, is it really worth it?
XxXSnake23XxX
Jul 4th, 2007, 01:00 PM
i dont think its a scam. ive been searching kajiji a lot to for a used car, anda there are many sellers that are selling cars for that cheap. the thing is, even though its a nice car now, its old, and in a few years ur probably gonna have to replace engine, wheels, suspension, etc. the seller probably doesnt want to do that.
yes its a nice car, but if the motor has 250k+, is it really worth it?
+1
yao416
Jul 4th, 2007, 01:19 PM
The girls is a scam :D
KorruptioN
Jul 4th, 2007, 01:23 PM
The girls is a scam :D
You're the scam
That ad? Scam.
BartBandy
Jul 4th, 2007, 01:24 PM
i dont think its a scam. ive been searching kajiji a lot to for a used car, anda there are many sellers that are selling cars for that cheap. the thing is, even though its a nice car now, its old, and in a few years ur probably gonna have to replace engine, wheels, suspension, etc. the seller probably doesnt want to do that.
yes its a nice car, but if the motor has 250k+, is it really worth it?
+1
Quick question. Do either of you know what you're talking about, or are you just posting to up your post count?
mdc
Jul 4th, 2007, 01:49 PM
Quick question. Do either of you know what you're talking about, or are you just posting to up your post count?
98% ofthe posts in the Motor forum are made with zero knowledge ... read at your own risk :lol:
weales
Jul 4th, 2007, 02:10 PM
1. Search Google for Supra Forums
2. Find a local one (if possible)
3. View their classified ads
4. Review pricing and get a average
Plain and simple, research.
I call salvage title or scam.
Scottie
Jul 4th, 2007, 04:46 PM
I went and checked it out for you the Girl comes with the car I took them both for a test drive for you and its fine. worth the money.
lazarus
Jul 4th, 2007, 05:01 PM
1. Search Google for Supra Forums
2. Find a local one (if possible)
3. View their classified ads
4. Review pricing and get a average
Plain and simple, research.
I call salvage title or scam.
I already know the prices.. That car could easily go for 10 - 20k depending on its working order.
I'm going to classify this Kajiji ad as a scam.
Atomic Chip
Jul 4th, 2007, 05:15 PM
are you just posting to up your post count?
Sorry, you lost me .. why would anyone do that? Is there some reward for having a high number? :confused:
Madrid2k
Jul 4th, 2007, 05:31 PM
Yes, it is a scam.
Both Kijiji and Craigslist are rife with scams. Usually the vehicle is located out of country and the seller asks you to send money through a "shipping" company or another third-party intermediary.
I thought this type of scam was relegated to the free Internet sites, but I actually came across scammers using Autotrader.ca as well when I was looking for my motorcycle.
Usually, when the price is too good to be true, it usually is.
KawaiiTentacleBeast
Jul 4th, 2007, 05:52 PM
It's always MKIV Supras too. Never any other car. I can guess which demographic they are targetting. :lol:
lazarus
Jul 4th, 2007, 05:56 PM
Yes, it is a scam.
Both Kijiji and Craigslist are rife with scams. Usually the vehicle is located out of country and the seller asks you to send money through a "shipping" company or another third-party intermediary.
I thought this type of scam was relegated to the free Internet sites, but I acutally came across scammers using Autotrader.ca as well when I was looking for my motorcycle.
Usually, when the price is too good to be true, it usually is.
Haha, I was wondering how they would pull it off.. Really sneaky. :)
lazarus
Jul 6th, 2007, 12:27 AM
lol, yep you called it..
Hello,I am writing you regarding my car.The price I am looking for is $ 5,500.00.The car is in perfect condition, there's not even a scratch on it.Everything from the motor to the tiers and mirrors is shining and looking brand new.I am currently in UK with my work,and may be moving permanently here,that is why I have to sell it asap and at this low price.I only deal through Safepay so if you are interested in purchasing let me know and we can talk the details.Also let me know if you need any more info on this wonderful vehicle or if you have any other questions of any sort.It has not been involved in any accidents of any kind.Here are some more info on the car:
Miles:12000
Body Type:Coupe
Transmission:Manual
Number of Doors:2
Engine:6
Interior:Gray
Warranty:No
Year:1994
Title:Clear
Condition:Used
Exterior:Black
Fuel Type:Gasoline
chickenbones
Jul 6th, 2007, 12:40 AM
$5,500 for a 94? It's a toyota! My Toyota Tercel sold for $1,200. I doubt this car is any different.
I mean it's old, soon you'll probably have to replace parts on it. I mean is it really worth it?
$5,500 is definitly too high for a 94. Don't get scammed into paying this much!
I know I'll get lots of +1 +1 +1 for this!
;) ;) ;) ;) :lol: :lol: :lol: :D :D :D
masterballer
Jul 6th, 2007, 01:08 AM
I see this sometimes on autotrader, people post their supras for 5000 but when you call them they really want 50 000! its not a scam, email him and im pretty sure he will say i want xxxxx amount.
jappaswat
Jul 6th, 2007, 01:33 AM
$5,500 for a 94? It's a toyota! My Toyota Tercel sold for $1,200. I doubt this car is any different.
I mean it's old, soon you'll probably have to replace parts on it. I mean is it really worth it?
$5,500 is definitly too high for a 94. Don't get scammed into paying this much!
I know I'll get lots of +1 +1 +1 for this!
;) ;) ;) ;) :lol: :lol: :lol: :D :D :D
lol.. very funny joke.. either that or you have no idea what supra means.
GoiNGPoSTaL
Jul 6th, 2007, 01:54 AM
lol, yep you called it..
Hello,I am writing you regarding my car.The price I am looking for is $ 5,500.00.The car is in perfect condition, there's not even a scratch on it.Everything from the motor to the tiers and mirrors is shining and looking brand new.I am currently in UK with my work,and may be moving permanently here,that is why I have to sell it asap and at this low price.I only deal through Safepay so if you are interested in purchasing let me know and we can talk the details.Also let me know if you need any more info on this wonderful vehicle or if you have any other questions of any sort.It has not been involved in any accidents of any kind.Here are some more info on the car:
Miles:12000
Body Type:Coupe
Transmission:Manual
Number of Doors:2
Engine:6
Interior:Gray
Warranty:No
Year:1994
Title:Clear
Condition:Used
Exterior:Black
Fuel Type:Gasoline
http://img21.imagevenue.com/aAfkjfp01fo1i-18447/loc951/63719_untitled_122_951lo.JPG
:confused:
ratface
Jul 6th, 2007, 12:51 PM
I've never seen anyone start an "is this a scam" thread where the answer wasn't "Yes".
ashhabib
Jul 6th, 2007, 02:33 PM
^^^ I saw the exterior colour too! Thats the lightest Black paint ever!
"Back away, not today, disco lady!"