• Last Updated:
  • Jul 19th, 2010 9:06 pm
Tags:
None
Apr 1, 2010
12 posts
18 upvotes

Dell U2711 vs HDTV

Hi, I'm looking for a new display that will be used for ps3 gaming, bluray movie, and regular computer tasks. I have been thinking of buying the Dell U2711, but for that price I can get a pretty decent 40''> LCD TV. I'm not an expert on this field and would like some advise. Thanks in advance.
5 replies
Jun 8, 2010
45 posts
44 upvotes
Montreal
Bump

I posted in the other thread about IPS monitors but now i'm changing my mind and have some extra funds to work with. As i was researching, the U2711 looked much better and that brought up a new dilemma.

Do i get a new 32" LED 120Hz 1080p Samsung TV (U32C5000) or do I go with the Ultrasharp.
Deal Fanatic
Apr 4, 2009
7698 posts
794 upvotes
North York
The U2711 is not for a typical user. They are intended for the users whom require true colour reproduction - photo editing. Thus the high price tab. Believe it or not, even at $1,200+, these are a deal compared to other professional quality monitors.

For normal users, you can get a 27" LCD for $300 on sale.
Jul 6, 2009
828 posts
522 upvotes
I think the choice really depends on what you want to use it for, and how far you'll be sitting from the monitor. I have the U2711 and use it primarily for gaming and photo editing. I sit about 2 feet from the monitor. For these purposes, it works great.

I wouldn't want anything bigger than a 27" on my desk, and I love the extra detail from the higher resolution for gaming. If you're sitting further back or don't need the colour accuracy or detail, then a 32" LED might be preferable.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 7, 2006
7523 posts
460 upvotes
Toronto
32" is about the biggest you can put on a desk to enjoy the high resolution.

I don't see how you can cross shop a 40" and a 27"...the only thing similar is the price. Totally different use.