• Oct 21st, 2010 8:11 pm
Tags:
None
Oct 8, 2010
49 posts
1 upvote
Welland

Bank wants me to pay 12.5%!!!

I graduated with $14k in a line of credit at the bank and they want to charge me 12.5% when payments begin in January. That's triple what it is NOW!

I was like... will it go down if I pay it down to 11-12k and they said no. It actually goes up to 13.5%!

What the hell is that? I have a credit card with lower interest than that.

What can I do? This is ********.
40 replies
Deal Addict
May 24, 2010
1034 posts
153 upvotes
you can't do anything other than declare bankruptcy and have the bank negotiate down at that point
Banned
Apr 27, 2010
6280 posts
448 upvotes
Help me
Fire sale and pay it back.
Ask family for help.
Deal Fanatic
Dec 8, 2007
5550 posts
2221 upvotes
Find a new bank with a lower rate. Sizzle the deal by promising to move your business there.

You do have a job, right?

Then it shouldn't be a problem finding someone else to take over the loan.
Hydropwnics wrote:"TodayHello is a certified hustler and original gangster."
Deal Expert
May 17, 2008
15134 posts
160 upvotes
lizotte_jason wrote: I graduated with $14k in a line of credit at the bank and they want to charge me 12.5% when payments begin in January. That's triple what it is NOW!

I was like... will it go down if I pay it down to 11-12k and they said no. It actually goes up to 13.5%!

What were the terms of the loan when you took it out?
Deal Guru
Dec 7, 2009
13885 posts
1368 upvotes
I agree that banks need to be further and further regulated. Sudden jumps in interest rate are one of the first things that need to be looked at.
In a perfect system, corporations would fear the government and the government would fear the people. - David Wong

Check out caRpetbomBer's picks in this thread.
Deal Fanatic
Mar 15, 2005
6024 posts
1873 upvotes
Why did you take out a LOC instead of a student loan?
Oct 2, 2005
611 posts
26 upvotes