• Oct 22nd, 2010 9:42 am
Tags:
None
Jun 25, 2009
378 posts
17 upvotes
Toronto

What is a reasonable salary for my job?

I don't know if this is the proper forum topic, but oh well.

I'm a PhD student in a major urban city in Canada. I've been offered a job at a neighbouring university. My job is to organize and proofread/edit about 600 multiple choice questions for a multiple choice "test bank" for one of the introductory classes (like Psychology 101). The job will take about 100 hours or so, but my supervisor has told me to just go ahead and suggest a salary rate (per hour). (I have the job, just need to set a rate.)

Now, I've been a Teaching Assistant and a Research Assistant before. At my school, these two positions will earn about $40 and $30 per hour, respectively. But I consider this new job as a "consulting" gig (maybe I shouldn't?). Anyways, I'm just wondering what would be a reasonable rate to offer. I don't want to go too high, but not too low either. There's a standard TA rate ($40) at this other school, but no standard RA rate (depends on prof/student).

Your suggestions for a $/hr. amount would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
11 replies
Nov 29, 2007
839 posts
81 upvotes
Victoria BC
euges720 wrote: I don't know if this is the proper forum topic, but oh well.

I'm a PhD student in a major urban city in Canada. I've been offered a job at a neighbouring university. My job is to organize and proofread/edit about 600 multiple choice questions for a multiple choice "test bank" for one of the introductory classes (like Psychology 101). The job will take about 100 hours or so, but my supervisor has told me to just go ahead and suggest a salary rate (per hour). (I have the job, just need to set a rate.)