• Last Updated:
  • Aug 24th, 2011 3:23 pm
Tags:
None
Sep 19, 2010
44 posts
3 upvotes

Arghhh... 'disobey the sign'... please advise

I was on Dufferin northbound approaching Finch, pulled over by an officer who claimed that I drove about 2km on the bus only lane. Got a $110 ticket.. :cry:

I am not trying to complain as I have realized he was right - I indeed, by mistake, drove a certain distance on the bus lane but here are my arguments. Please advise what I should do if I choose for the trial.

1) I am very new to that area, and I was going to Garthdale park. I had been looking for the park entrance on east side of Dufferin (that's why I was on the right-most lane). I did not find the entrance to the park, and I was about to make a right turn on Finch, near where I got caught.

2) When I entered into the 'bus only' lane, I only saw a diamond symbol pained on the road. My 1-year-driving experience told me that this is a 'car pool' lane. I have 3 passengers, including myself, in the car, then I thought it was okay to use that lane. On my regular home-to-work route, I have seen the bus only lane, with either the 'bus only' painted on the road alongside the diamond symbol, or there is a sign clearly stating 'bus lane'; whereas on the scene I got caught, there was just a diamond.

Later on the officer pointed me to a sign hanging above the road, on which there is no 'bus lane' but an empty car symbol. He explained I shall see different symbol (people drawn in the car) if this was a car pool lane. I said 'the sign is small, and distant from one to another. I would not be in the bus lane if 'bus lane' was clearly written either on the road or on the sign" He said "you can discuss this to the ministry of transportation"...

I am going to the court for sure. $110 is okay but losing 2 or 3 points and potential insurance increase really upset me... Please you all give me some advise, how should I proceed to minimize the damage. Thank you!!
34 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 7, 2007