• Last Updated:
  • Apr 20th, 2017 12:04 pm
Oct 22, 2015
130 posts
28 upvotes
Ottawa
godoggo wrote:
Apr 9th, 2016 8:10 pm
How do you get into FSWEP initially? I have filed an application. I am a second year Carleton student in finance and accounting-getting A to A+ in all courses, am a TA for accounting 1st year and involved in student government, on faculty board for business school and do volunteer work and volunteer for university giving tours. What else do I have to do. I have customer service experience, have been a life guard and worked for parks Ontario. Could there be something on my resume that is actually limiting me?
I think it depends on when you applied to FSWEP and what you checked off in your application. Plenty of students are hired for summer positions, and they may be in the process of contacting candidates right now, although I think most have already been called for interviews by now (or at least contacted to see if candidates are interested in the position).

The department I work for tends to hire 3rd or 4th year accounting/finance students as they are looking for students to bridge into its FI development program after graduation. They also tend to hire their coop students through FSWEP after their placements are done (as I've mentioned before). I can't speak of any other departments though. Good luck with the hunt for work!
Dec 30, 1969
47 posts
7 upvotes
East York, ON
So how exactly does their hiring process work? I was contacted today about a position for the summer and the start date is May 11. Do you think there would be interviews/tests that would need to be completed? Also to those students who have done FSWEP jobs or are currently doing one, what are the chances of being kept on after the summer even if it's part time?
Deal Addict
Nov 10, 2005
1857 posts
214 upvotes
Ottawa
krejci87 wrote:
Apr 28th, 2016 8:31 pm