Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 15, 2017
736 posts
165 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
Slotback wrote: Are prosecutor's obliged to tell you when asked, whether the officer has shown up?

I wish to have my speeding ticket (15km over) dismissed seeing as I have not received disclosure after numerous fax attempts. What is the likelihood that the JP accepts my request?

Is it advisable that I tell the prosecutor that I have not received my disclosure before requesting it to the JP?

* Court date is tomorrow.
No they are not required to tell you whether officer is there or not, but you can still ask.

In Ontario, if it is your first appearance, you will not get it dismissed. JP will order prosecutor to get you the disclosure and set another trial date.

Yes tell them you have not recieved it yet before trial starts.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
Mar 7, 2011
3 posts
halifax
I'm really glad I found this thread and I am thankful people can actually give really good advice.

I live in Halifax, NS and my court date was supposed to be May 2nd. I got a letter in the mail (I can upload it once I get home if needed) that says that they are changing the court date because the officer can't make it and the letter is dated April 11th and they say I have 3 choices which is basically to call them to figure out another date, still go to court that day and present my objections or just go to court that day to find another court date.

Should I just try to call them and say I'd like to settle it out of court? Or just try to stretch it as far as I can?

EDIT: I should specify, I was charged back in September of going 113 in a 80 zone (I thought it was a 90km/h zone being a highway). I work for a car dealership and was driving a car to bring it to get work done, so I was going to explain that I wasn't used to the vehicle either.