Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 15, 2017
736 posts
165 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
rmvmnm wrote: Hello
I got a parking ticket in Mississauga at 12:46 pm. I have a parking receipt from the meter timed at 12:47. By the time I could get to the machine and pay the enforcement officer ticketed my vehicle. Do i stand a chance to get my ticket waived as it was within a minute. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Maybe. Wont hurt to try.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
Aug 11, 2011
837 posts
1425 upvotes
Toronto
ShrekTek wrote: Caselaw has changed since this thread was started years ago... in Ontario, a stay request for lack of disclosure will NEVER succeed on your first apperance. The caselaw says that proper remedy, at first apperance, is to get you the disclosure and set another date. You can still do the whole filing of Stay 4F anyways for the practice, but I guarantee they will just adjourn it to a new date.
Thank you.
Feb 26, 2018
3 posts
1 upvote
Hi everyone,

Just wanted to post my experience successfully fighting a “parking in a fire route parking ticket”. Hopefully this can help anyone else in similar circumstances. First off thanks to Shrektek for his several messages of advice leading up to my court date.