Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 15, 2017
66 posts
8 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
OKSpring wrote:
Jul 18th, 2017 7:30 am
I got a speeding ticket from Markham in early June and sent it to Newmarket requesting a trial date, haven't received anything yet.

Anyone else in a similar situation know how long it usually takes or you needed to follow up?
Best thing to do is call the Provincial Offences office in Markham and ask for the status. But it can take months sometimes before you get your trial date set, so this is not uncommon.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
ShrekTek.ca
Jul 2, 2007
768 posts
21 upvotes
Got a "Disobey stop sign - fail to stop" ticket this morning. First ticket I've gotten since I've been driving. Guess it's about time... I didn't fly through the stop sign or anything but I didn't do the driver's school full stop and wait a couple of seconds before going either. Stop sign tickets are hard to fight if it comes down to evidence right?

In any case, the back of the ticket has three options. I understand option 1 and 3 (pay the fine / go to trial), but option 2 which I've heard is the "early resolution" option is stated as "plea of guilty - submissions as to a penalty". This is the same thing as "early resolution" right? Appear before a prosecutor, agree to a lesser fine and hopefully remove points, etc.?