Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 19, 2005
743 posts
4 upvotes
is there even a point to fighting a 72km in a 50 zone? other than getting the fine reduced is there a chance for the ticket to be reduced to a lesser charge ?
Jun 15, 2017
269 posts
70 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
tk11 wrote:
Nov 9th, 2017 1:49 am
Got a speeding ticket with no speed written on it, but only a fine.
Requested disclosure and the officers notes are not really readable but the date stamp of the notes is 25 days after the incident. Is this normal? Can I recieve a stay. The ticket also doesn't say the posted speed, and he wrote incorrect information regarding which lane I was in and which lane he was in. Also cop used pacing to stop.
Can you scan the ticket and black out personal info and officer info and post it so we can see? This sounds like a fatal error.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
ShrekTek.ca
Jun 15, 2017
269 posts
70 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
jstyle wrote:
Nov 9th, 2017 1:48 pm
is there even a point to fighting a 72km in a 50 zone? other than getting the fine reduced is there a chance for the ticket to be reduced to a lesser charge ?
There is always a point, as in it is your right to see the disclosure (officers notes) of the case they have against you before you decide whether to plead guilty or not.

Also, in Ontario if the officer did not reduce the speed at all when he gave you the ticket, there is a good chance to possibly get it reduced to 15 over from 22 over which is 0 demerits (but may still affect your insurance).
--
--
ShrekTek.ca
Nov 8, 2017
1 posts
I was pulled over for doing 150/km in a 80 km/hr zone in Calgary on Crowchild Trail. The police office had estimated my speed as he was far behind me and had some catching up to do. He was coming off an approach and would have been doing around 50 km/hr.