Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 15, 2017
645 posts
144 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
Have you called to see if disclosure is ready?

If its ready, ask if they will scan and email to you or if they will mail copy to you. If no, then you will need to send somebody to pick it up for you.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
Aug 26, 2017
3 posts
Hi,

I have a trial for hand held device. Wanted to seek your opinion on what my options are and what are my odds of beating this one?
On a clear summer day, early morning, at a red light (with 3 cars ahead of me) I took a glimpse of my GPS in a stationary car and kept the phone back in about 5 sec. The cop walked to me standing from the curb and asked me to present my phone to him. Without knowing what he is pulling me for I handed the phone and he gave me a ticket. he did not ask me question or let me explain anything, instead said I should fight it in court.
My trial date is in couple days, here is the disclosure below:

"Observe veh in L2 of 3, trying to get into L1 of 3. Observe driver through his side window, he is holding a cell phone in his left hand, screen lit up, chest height , he is looking at it. Blk iPhone, GPS visible.
ID on photo DL. No video evidence"

A couple contradictions in his version 1) I was not changing lane but stationary, 2) Was not in my left hand but right as I am right handed and 3) When he walked up to me and asked for my phone I picked it up and gave it to him and thats when he saw the GPS running on the phone.
So essentially it is his story versus mine.

What would you advise I should do ? I think my options are:
A) Plead guilty
B) Lie that I never touched the phone but it was a black notepad which from 2 lanes over might look like a phone