Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Deal Addict
Mar 23, 2008
4977 posts
2477 upvotes
Edmonton
mrclassikh1 wrote:
Dec 6th, 2017 7:16 pm
Hey everyone I recently came over this forum because today in the mail I received my notice of trial and need some help in the next steps of the process. I got pulled over on October 24, 2017 at 1:20am in York region speed listed was 85 in a 60 zone its essentially a trap due to a large hill and construction occurring at the same time. I already pleaded not guilty and my trial date is set for October 31st, 2018 would this violate section 11b. ? And if i'm correct my next step should be to request the disclosure right? Sorry i'm new to this.
18 months is the current baseline for an 11b, so no to your first question. And yes to your second one (disclosure). But I sure hope you have a better defence planned than “It’s a trap!”

C
Jun 6, 2010
96 posts
Richmond Hill
Hi all,

I just got a speeding ticket yesterday in Toronto, the cop was in one of those older Ford models. He says I was going 70 in a 50 km/h zone (coming down on Richmond St E ramp from DVP). There were a few cars around me but not one in front when he tagged me (while coming down the ramp). I assume it was a radar gun? Not sure how accurate they are on cars coming down an elevated ramp? Also, the officer was not in a parked vehicle from what it seemed. He couldn't have clocked me after I came down as I slowed down let another car pass on Power St. before I moved on (I even offered the cop to cross over on Power St. but he budged....I guess he decided to turn and follow instead when I passed).