Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 15, 2017
736 posts
163 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
bugzy101 wrote:
Jan 30th, 2018 4:36 pm
Well my plan is to discredit the officer since in his notes he stated that i was a reckless driver or drunk which is weared since he followed me through residential area for 2 kilometer while i stop at each stop sign as well as in his statement he said i spoke perfect english when i askk whats his badge number which is a lie i simply said "badge ou" my plans is to wait and see if he will show up to court if he does i will be filling a complaint withthe oiprd for misconduct as well as the ministry of french services which most likely will get it drop but ya not a lawyer but i am some what familiar with the law. this is just a test run for me plus it will be my first time ever going to trail.
The best way to learn about court and trial is to do it, so go for it! But don't expect to discredit officer on the stand... with what you have said, you have nothing to really make the JP have a reasonable doubt about anything.

OIPRD is ex-cops looking out for current cops. Definitely file the complaint but don't expect it to go anywhere.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
Jun 15, 2017
736 posts
163 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
416905 wrote:
Jan 30th, 2018 9:44 pm
Q: In Toronto courts, when does it become apparent if the police officer is or isn't present? Will he or she be in uniform? Can I ask the Crown or judge directly if the officer is present?
Note the officer does not need to be there when court starts. They only need to be there when the prosecutor decides to call your case up before the JP, so the prosecutor can hold off on cases when they know the officer is running late but on their way.

You can ask prosecutor if officer will be there for trial. They may or may not tell you.