Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Deal Fanatic
Mar 23, 2008
9015 posts
5485 upvotes
Edmonton
kneevase wrote:
Feb 14th, 2018 9:57 pm
Can you not argue that there's a cosine effect if the lidar/radar reading was taken on a curve?
From what I recall of geometry, any difference because you were at an angle instead of head in would mean you were going faster than indicated, rather than slower. So be careful what you prove...

C
Jun 15, 2017
736 posts
164 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
kneevase wrote:
Feb 14th, 2018 9:57 pm
Can you not argue that there's a cosine effect if the lidar/radar reading was taken on a curve?
In Ontario, the courts recognize the Cosine effect is in the defendants favors. So whatever reading the officer got, the speed was probably higher.

There are some states in the US that accept the Cosine effect to be an error and therefore the reading is not valid... but not in Ontario.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
Jan 4, 2013
6 posts
NORTH YORK
Okay guys i have talked to couple of paralegal guys one of them told me that he would charge me around 65-85 dollars and he knows people in that particular court ...he would do something that it wouldn't show up on my record that i ever got this ticket...but i have to pay the fine $110 ... is this possible?
Deal Fanatic
Mar 23, 2008
9015 posts
5485 upvotes
Edmonton
Interestinginterest wrote:
Feb 15th, 2018 7:10 am
Okay guys i have talked to couple of paralegal guys one of them told me that he would charge me around 65-85 dollars and he knows people in that particular court ...he would do something that it wouldn't show up on my record that i ever got this ticket...but i have to pay the fine $110 ... is this possible?
If it was me, I’d probably want more details than “he would do something”.

C
Dec 12, 2017
31 posts
Quebec
CNeufeld wrote:
Feb 6th, 2018 8:50 pm