Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 15, 2017
736 posts
164 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
Leo168 wrote:
Feb 25th, 2018 1:05 pm
Hi ShreTtek,

If I pick Option 2 for Early Resolution Meet with Prosecutor, I still have to go back for a trial? Sorry for the newbie question and for double posting, first infraction in over 20 years. "Disobey sign"

Thanks,
Leo
To my knowledge, yes. If you agree to plea deal you have to show up for trial anyways to get dealt with.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
Mar 15, 2013
217 posts
169 upvotes
ShrekTek wrote:
Feb 25th, 2018 3:15 pm
Fax is absolutely an acceptable way to serve notice, however in your case it does not matter...

In Ontario, caselaw says it is YOUR responsibility to check if disclosure is ready to be picked up. The prosecution does NOT have to notify you it is ready and does NOT have to send it to you.

In Ontario, caselaw says the proper remedy for a first appearance where disclosure has not been provided is to get the disclosure to you and set another trial date.

Doing a constitutional question about disclosure on a first appearance in Ontario is a waste of time.
Yikes, so I suppose the OP is very dated then...

Because www.ticketcombat.com also tells u to do the same thing

That being said, could you let me know how to proceed?
With deals come great responsibility to post on RFD.

I live for upvotes 😝
Apr 23, 2009
256 posts
154 upvotes
Toronto
Hi ShrekTek,

Thanks for your quick response.
Then I don't see the purpose of option 2, I don't mind paying the fine but the 2 demerit points is something I worry about.
I preferred to resolved this rather than have hanged over my head for a year. My insurance policy also has 1 forgive incident.

I wondered if others have experience with option 2.

Thanks again,
Leo

ShrekTek wrote:
Feb 25th, 2018 3:19 pm