Automotive

Ask me anything about fighting your traffic ticket (Speeding, Parking, etc.)

Jun 15, 2017
735 posts
163 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
sky888 wrote:
Feb 27th, 2018 12:13 am
hi, my dad recently got a "Obstruct Plate" ticket, which i assume its "license plate cover" ticket for $110.

he will fight it, what option should he go with?

Option 2# Early Resolution - Meet with Prosecutor w/Chinese Interpreter
Option 3# Trail Option

thanks
Early resolution is usually a waste of time as you can have the same conversation before trial and it is one less visit.

Plead not guilty and request a trial and when you get your notice of trial, then you can request disclosure (officers notes) and find out the exact reason for charge.
--
I am not a lawyer and I am not a paralegal and I do not give legal advice.
All statements made are my opinion only.
--
Jun 15, 2017
735 posts
163 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
lzljzys wrote:
Feb 27th, 2018 12:23 am
Hi, I had a clean driving record got pulled over near Cornwall and the police officer issued 3 tickets:
a. speeding 149km/h at 100km/h zone (I was driving exactly at 141km/h, ticket not reduced, but the police officer told me it's going to be 3 points)
b. failed to surrender insurance card
c. failed to surrender vehicle permit

I do have the insurance card and vehicle permit at home. Now the thing is that I live in Toronto, so taking a one day vacation and a trip to Cornwall will cost me like $200-$250.

I asked for trial but the court mailed me with an Early resolution meeting notification on March 27. I asked the court, and if I dont show up on ERM, a trial will be scheduled around summer/September. Questions:

1. My insurance renews in end of October. I suppose if I delay the trial date to after my renew date, I can get away from the insurance increase for the first year? Does court allow the delay?