• Last Updated:
  • Sep 27th, 2016 12:49 pm
[OP]
Feb 3, 2014
65 posts
23 upvotes
Mississauga

Ask me anything about spray foam insulation

Hi all. I've used RFD for years to research various topics and find great deals, so I thought I would finally contribute with something that I actually know about: spray foam insulation. I have 15 years of experience in the industry in Ontario and know the product and the business inside out. Ask me anything about the stuff and I'll be happy to answer.

--
Peter
242 replies
Nov 24, 2002
890 posts
66 upvotes
Toronto
Peter. Why is Spray Foam so expensive relative to batt insulation? Install time is 1/2 of batt so labour cost should be much less. Is it really more expensive to manufacture than batt?

The other question: what is the recommended method of removing the stuff if it touches windows of finished doors? (The gap filler rattle can stuff). Goof off? Goo gone?
Deal Fanatic
Feb 1, 2006
9099 posts
215 upvotes
What are your thoughts on the problems that have cropped up recently with homeowners who have spray foamed their homes, and then had major mould problems and had to remove all the foam, which is a major job?
Mar 25, 2012
156 posts
26 upvotes
Ottawa
In addition, what are your thoughts on health problems resulting from being exposed to or living in houses with spray foam? Is it really a matter of improper application, or might there be a problem with the stuff itself? What are the chances of having an improper application?
Mar 30, 2004
914 posts
8 upvotes
Newmarket
how much foam does it take to make it cheaper to bring in a professional, than buying a kit? ( Tigerfoam, etc)
We have enough youth.. what we need is a fountain of smart
Deal Addict
May 24, 2008
2646 posts
557 upvotes
Toronto
Bullseye wrote:
Feb 5th, 2014 6:01 am