Careers

Ask me what it's like to work for the Government of Canada (Policy Analyst)

Mar 6, 2011
16 posts
6 upvotes
Ottawa

Ask me what it's like to work for the Government of Canada (Policy Analyst)

I've been working at the Government of Canada for a few years now.

If you want to know more about my recruitment process, what interviews look like or what the everyday job is like. Feel free to drop me a line here and I'll get back to you as soon as I can.

Although I never worked as an AS or PM, I can also speak about what a typical day looks like for them since we all work together.
25 replies
Jun 1, 2012
791 posts
51 upvotes
Hey there,

I know this question has been posed numerous times before, but I thought i'd ask anyway.

I've been placed in a pool of qualified candidates for a CR-03 position with CIC vegreville, I was wondering if you would have any idea what are the chances of getting hired from a pool?

From what I understand, being placed in a pool doesn't really mean much.

Thanks.
Mar 6, 2011
16 posts
6 upvotes
Ottawa
Hey,

I've seen internal competitions take as long as a year and a half to be completed. So if you were recently placed in the pool, there is still hope.
Given that a couple of letters are still going out. I'm assuming that recruitment this year might be a little slower. In many of the collective agreements, employees can remain in their positions for up to 16 months after they received their "surplused" letter (that includes the 120 opting day period). That being said, in certain shops, people are already starting to feel the consequences of the people who have been let go and/or leaving. Let's hope in your case that they will go through the pool soon.

You can also email the person on the competition and ask them about timelines.

Good luck!
Jul 22, 2012
535 posts
104 upvotes
What agency are you with and what is your academic background?

Did you get hired through post-secondary recruitment or did you get there by some other avenue?