Careers

AthabascaU VS YorkU For Computer Science

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 18th, 2019 11:09 am
[OP]
May 27, 2019
4 posts

AthabascaU VS YorkU For Computer Science

I currently have a 2 year diploma in software engineering from Sheridan College. I think getting my degree would be the best option as I have no work experience and am struggling to find developer work. Which one should I go with?

Athabasca:
+ Will take around 2 years or less to complete
+ Can work and try to get developer experience while doing the program
- The degree is in Computer Information Science (CIS) and not Computer Science (CS), not sure if this makes a difference
- It is an online degree, not sure if employers care about this or not

York:
+ An actual university, might help when getting jobs
+ Has an internship portion if I decide to do an extra year
- Will take around 3 years to complete
- Cannot work while doing the program, or only limited times to do so (in the summer or during internship)

I eventually want to work for more well known companies in Canada (AMD, Shopify, etc) or move to USA and work for even bigger companies (Google, Amazon, etc) within 5 years of graduating hopefully.
7 replies
Sep 24, 2015
220 posts
85 upvotes
WeebRonin wrote:
May 29th, 2019 11:33 pm
I currently have a 2 year diploma in software engineering from Sheridan College. I think getting my degree would be the best option as I have no work experience and am struggling to find developer work. Which one should I go with?

Athabasca:
- The degree is in Computer Information Science (CIS) and not Computer Science (CS), not sure if this makes a difference

York:
- Cannot work while doing the program, or only limited times to do so (in the summer or during internship)

I eventually want to work for more well known companies in Canada (AMD, Shopify, etc) or move to USA and work for even bigger companies (Google, Amazon, etc) within 5 years of graduating hopefully.