• Last Updated:
  • Aug 23rd, 2017 4:18 pm
Jul 25, 2015
294 posts
119 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
ExcelPremium wrote:
Jul 26th, 2017 12:59 pm
I'm new to camping but is the Marmot tent better than any of these brands, Sportz Footprint, Burton Whetstone, World Famous and Rockwater?
1000000% better.
[OP]
Dec 19, 2009
601 posts
85 upvotes
Ottawa
Cottoni wrote:
Jul 26th, 2017 4:58 pm
The North Face talus 3 and Mountain Hardwear Optic 2.5 are comparable in price and size to the Marmot Catalyst 3, just don't know if there would be any difference quality and durability wise. Actually thinking on getting the talus 4 for the extra room.
Can't speak to durability but they're all reputable brands so don't see them being much different on that front.

I'm no expert but for me the difference was the Marmot comes with the footprint so that's another $40+ saved over the other two. Also for it's size it's the lightest (barely) of the bunch.

Don't think you'd go wrong with any of those options though. At the $200 price point these all have solid value vs spending $80-100 less on a Canadian tire tent.
Deal Expert
Dec 1, 2003
18962 posts
740 upvotes
Montreal
mikek33 wrote:
Jul 27th, 2017 6:29 am
Can't speak to durability but they're all reputable brands so don't see them being much different on that front.

I'm no expert but for me the difference was the Marmot comes with the footprint so that's another $40+ saved over the other two. Also for it's size it's the lightest (barely) of the bunch.

Don't think you'd go wrong with any of those options though. At the $200 price point these all have solid value vs spending $80-100 less on a Canadian tire tent.